lazyhome         reviews         hype         new.gif (913 bytes) webboard                interviews

alpo.jpg (18295 bytes)
face.jpg (31320 bytes)
metalcase.jpg (36537 bytes)
marge5.jpg (15979 bytes)marge6.jpg (23355 bytes)








Lazy-i Best of 2005 Compilation

Here it is again, the annual year-end "best of" compilation. When I started doing this 11 years ago I made maybe five or six copies. These days I give away around 100 to friends, family, business acquaintances -- people on the scene and in the know. And you could be one of them!

As always, it's a recap of the best stuff I had a chance to hear throughout the year as part of my work with and The Reader. By the way, that funky music heard at the beginning is a jingle circa 1970 for KIOA, is a radio station out of Des Moines that Teresa grew up listening to. If it sounds familiar, then you're probably too old to be listening to this CD. Thanks as always goes out to artist/genius Donovan Beery ( for doing his usual stellar job of package design.

Want a copy? Enter the Lazy-I Best of 2005 Giveaway! All you have to do is e-mail me ( with your name and mailing address and you'll be entered in the drawing. Hurry! Deadline's Jan. 16!

Here's a track list:

Intro -- "KIOA Solid Rockt" from KIOA.

Of Montreal -- "Wraith Pinned to the Mist And Other Games" from The Sunlandic Twins, (Polyvinyl).

Maria Taylor -- "One for the Shareholder" from 11:11 released by Saddle Creek. 

Eux Autres -- "Salut Les Copins" from Hell is Eux Autres released by Bons Mots. 

Tegan and Sara -- "Speak Slow" from So Jealous released by Vapor/Sanctuary.

Teenage Fanclub -- "It's All in my Mind" from Man-Made on Merge. 

Dios Malos -- "Feels Good Being Somebody" from Dios (Malos), on Star Time International.  

Iron & Wine -- "Woman King" from Woman King EP, Sub Pop.  

Okkervil River -- "For Real" from Black Sheep Boy released by Jagjaguwar. 

Sufjan Stevens -- "Jacksonville" from Illinois, on Asthmatic Kitty. 

Eagle*Seagull -- "Your Beauty Is a Knife I Turn on my Throat" from Eagle*Seagull, released by Paper Garden. 

My Morning Jacket -- "Off the Record"  from Z released by Badman Records. 

Beck -- "Hell Yes" from Guero on Interscope. 

Orenda Fink -- "Bloodline" from Invisible Ones on Saddle Creek Records.

Mercy Rule -- "Don't Let It Go" from 7-inch w/ Frontier Trust released on Speed! Nebraska.  

Criteria -- "Prevent the World" from When We Break, released by Saddle Creek Records. 

Spoon -- "I Turn My Camera On" from Gimme Friction on Merge Records. 

Lloyd Cole -- "Brazil" from Music in a Foriegn Language, released by Sanctuary. 

Syd Matters -- "Lost Bird" from Syd Matters on V2. 

Low -- "California" from The Great Destroyer , released by Sub Pop. 

Back to

Posted Dec. 28, 2005. Copyright 2005 Tim McMahan. All rights reserved.